Lochmaben Community Council

Lochmaben Community Council 



Chairman: Colin Davidson  

Vice Chairman: May McKerrell

Secretary: Kenelma McCrae

Treasurer: Bob Murray

Committee: Ian Vidler, Jim Davidson, Carol Rogerson, Carol McLean, Charles McKerrell

e-mail: LochmabenCC@gmail.com


Our aim is to act as a voice for our local area, covering the views and concerns of local people on a wide range of issues. Typically we will make representations to Dumfries and Galloway Council, other public sector bodies and private agencies on any matters which may affect our community's  interests. We also administer Wind Farm Community Benefit funds where available and applicable.

To give us our full name, the Royal Burgh of Lochmaben and District Community Council acts in accordance with the Amended Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils in Dumfries and Galloway. We engage with and act for the Community in respect of:

  • Planning applications and policies,

  • Regional Council activities,

  • Partnerships with other public and private organisations,

  • Representing local views, opinions and the interests of the Community on wider issues that may affect the Community.

All members of our community are encouraged to report one-off issues e.g roads and lighting faults direct to Dumfries and Galloway Council or other public and private organisations as necessary. This will help to ensure prompt and corrective action is  carried out by the relevant organisation. However the Community Council are committed to helping resolve ongoing problems where the community or individuals have been unsuccessful following their own direct action.

We meet at 7.30pm  on the 1st Monday of each month in the Town Hall. All meetings are open to the public and everyone is welcome to attend. Please contact us at LochmabenCC@gmail.com or via any member of the committee to see if we are able to help in any way.

NB All Minutes are now on Facebook---http://www.lochmaben.org.uk/